Skip to main content

Deadly Sins & 78 Edits - 7 Sins Vol. 1

It's no big secret that we're huge fans of the lads over at Giant Cuts, regardless of whether it's a small pub gig or a full on danceparty we tend to keep at least two of their releases close at hand in our pouches (Dance Star on #3 is simply a mint tune isn't it...and well, all of GC001 is just a beast as you probably know). Now we're treated to a similar gem in the form of a new maiden voyage 7" edit series called 7 Sins by, yep you guessed correctly - Deadly Sins and the rising star that is 78 Edits (how cool are these little 7 inch labels popping up recently!?). This little nugget contains 2 cuts here that groove, funk, pop and jump out in all the right spots for us. We reckon these producers have been progressing heavily with their output as of late, crafting increasingly drool-worthy and timeless soul/disco edit monsters as time wears on.

Deadly Sins gets first blows on the A side with 'I Can't Forget', bringing to life Ronn Matlock's 'I Can't Forget About You', which ticks all the boxes in a big way: clocking in at 96, check. Looped-up soul vocal chop, check. Low, slapbass-bassline snippets and nasty drums that thump just as we like, check. Real tasty stuff here. The B side runs along similar lines with 'I'll Be True'; 78 Edit's cheeky take of Bill Summer's 'Come Into My Life', venturing into 105 bpm territory creating a magnetizing groove that kicks. A real jam this one too - both these tunes showcase some of of the finest work from these producers to date we reckon..seriously can't wait for what's next from them (some of you might know what's on deck, it's BIG).

7SINS1 Deadly Sins & 78 Edits - 7 Inch Edits Vol 1 In Stores 27th July by Deadly Sins

So don't sleep on this - a massively tight package by two of the hottest names in the biz right now that's destined to sell out (almost all the records Deadly Sins has played part in are gonzo). Street date for this is a couple of days away I think, so bookmark the juno page here.

Highly recommended & probably in the top five records of the summer for us so far. Congrats on a top first release gents, here's to many more!


Popular posts from this blog

Sleazy Team ~ Best of '16

Jebus, another year gone by already? Time sure flies when the world's going bonkers and the masses are bent on sticking all their eggs in one giant smelly basket and having Farage, The Donald and a host of other lunatics break them all at once while laughing hysterically.

All farcical geo-political madness and neo-patriotic nu-bigotry aside, 2016 was a memorable year for us at SB. We tricked The Popular People's Front - our heroes, the originators! - into doing us the final record in the Black Ops series, which sold out in what seemed a nano-second. After burying the Black Ops project with a sniff and a tear, we launched a new imprint, Make Believe Disco, with French prodigal kid Folamour handling the inaugural release, which, unbelievably, also sold out from the distro on day one.
At the tail-end of the year we sat down in our cabin in the woods, started a fire and got the s'mores going, while looking back on 7 years of Sleazy Beats. We agreed that in spite of our valian…

Mori Ra - Oriental Forest (Forest Jams)

Recently Guy & Kris asked for support to keep the Sleazy blog running and to bring fresh mojo to the sleazyverse. When Luvless told me about their cry for help I immediately wrote Guy and offered my help.
Some of you might know me frommy productions as Martin Hayes for Razor-n-Tape, Rose Records and recently In Any Case Records.
I’ve been reading the blog since the early "gallery of awesome people“ days, to which I actually contributed a picture (mugshot obscured by skimpy knickers, if you have a copy of Frank Booker's record on Sleazy Beats, try and spot me on the cover!). Now let's get crackin' with my first review.
Possibly you’ve never heard of Mori Ra before, but that should change before long. The Osaka-based dj, record collector and producer managed to fly under the radar for a good while, but after a string of fantastic records on Macadam Mambo, Passport To Paradise, Most Excellent Unlimited and a recent sureshot edit of Yoruba Singers’ Black Pepper (on Left …

V.A. - Quartet Series 001

I remember meeting Maurits (Nachtbraker) for the first time in Amsterdam a few years ago in a bar in the western part of town, where we both happen to live. You never quite know what to expect with these 'producer' types. I've been in the game long enough to know there's a lot of bullshit going around, but right off the bat it was clear Maurits is no chip off the bullshit block though. At the time he had his first release out on Dirt Crew and some things lined up with Heist and was about to finish his degree at university. Over the course of way too many beers and lots of merry banter he explained he wanted to have a go at making a living out of this music thing. The plan was to sign up with an agency, release records through Dirt Crew and Heist and eventually set up his own imprint. This is usually the point where my bullshit swing-o-meter starts peaking, but even through my beergoggles I could tell this goodnatured soul with his winning smile meant business (even if…